My favorites for week 7, 2011

Big GrinSomething to laugh: my favorite comic strip of the weekabout the power of social software

  Social software and networks have become real powerful and allow us to get information pretty much in advance before they actually are published “officially”. Whether it is from events like Lotussphere 2011 or Watson playing Jeopardy!, social networks allow you to be ahead of others with your information and knowledge. Of course, it can be also used as some sort of “alternate communication channel”, as nicely shown in this “Reality Check” comic strip.

  Something to enjoy: my favorite photo  on flickr under a Common Creative licenseabout a scary looking fish

Guess What I Had for Lunch, Plate 2
"Guess What I Had for Lunch, Plate 2" by Thomas Hawk.

In weeks when I can’t find a good photo on flickr published under a CC license ( of course I don’t have the time to check out all of them all the time ), Thomas Hawk’s photostream is my last hope, since he publishes tons of good photos every day. What I also like about his photos are the creative title he uses. A good title and description to me doubles the value of a photo.

Something to talk about: my favorite quote of the weekabout intellectuals

An intellectual is a man who takes more words than necessary to tell more than he knows.

That’s probably a good quote to end this blog posting.