My first experience with Windows Vista

After I bought myself a new computer – a Fujitsu Siemens Scaleo PI 2682 with 1 terrabyte disk space and 4 gigabyte RAM ( OK, 32bit Windows can only address 3.25 gigabyte ) – of course it came with Windows Vista and thus I made my first experience with this shiny new ( not that new, I guess ) operating system.

The new user interface of course is elegant, but my first experiences regarding robustness and also user friendliness are not that convincing, compared to reliable Windows XP I still have on my older Sony PC.

During the first 48 hours I experienced

  • a complete system freeze when I inserted a CD first time into the CD slot,
  • a system freeze during a shutdown,
  • several sidebar freezes


Really annoying are the thousands of questions you get asked when trying to install something: the browser, the firewall and the operating system itself are throwing questions at me again and again whether I really want to do what I already decided to do or whether I will allow ingoing or outgoing internet connections ( sometimes I get strange process names shown for these type of firewall questions and I can only guess that these processes are part of the software I am currently trying to set up ).

Even when I start the virus scanner to check a newly downloaded file I get asked whether I really want to do this.

Lifehacker published some tips recently how to overcome part of these questions.

Another annoying thing is that some web pages simply don’t show up correctly in the Microsoft browser nor in Firefox 3 beta, especially pages from google like Picasa or Google maps.

And: not everything what runs under XP will run under Vista, even tools from Microsoft won’t, like Microsoft Virtual PC 2007 which has not been tested under and does not work properly under Vista as I figured out yesterday.

It’s funny ( or not ? ) but one of the first forum entries about this Fujitsu Siemens computer I bumped into was about someone thinking about how to replace Vista with Windows XP on his box ( this posting is in German language ).
Related articles

8 Responses to “My first experience with Windows Vista”

  1. DVD Record out of control … « Axel’s Travelog Says:

    […] week I was attempting to format a DVD on my new computer with Windows Vista installed. Since this seemed to take a very long time I wanted to do something […]

  2. Windows XP under Windows Vista « Axel’s Travelog Says:

    […] and getting Windows 95 to run under a Windowx XP host system on my old computer and after buying a new computer with Windows Vista installed the next logical step for me was to try getting Windows XP running under my Windows Vista […]

  3. Windows XP under Windows Vista – with VirtualBox 2.0 « Axel’s Travelog Says:

    […] PC with 512 MByte RAM and a Pentium 4 1.7 GHz processor: the simulation was running a bit bumpy. On my new computer with 4 GByte and a Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q9300 with 2.5 GHz this mission runs pretty smooth under […]

  4. Iraida Mauritz Says:

    :O So mush Info :O THis Is he MOst AMAzing SIte DUDe 😀

  5. Efren Coray Says:

    Thank you for your help!

  6. Leta Rodes Says:

    I keep listening to the news speak about getting free online grant applications so I have been looking around for the best site to get one.:)

  7. hermeshandbags Says:

    good article,thanks a lot

  8. John Smith Says:

    you with a} quick heads up! Aside from that, fantastic blog!
    John Smith http://dumm1.co.uk


Leave a comment