My favorites for week 49, 2010

Big GrinSomething to laugh: my favorite comic strip of the weekabout the internet

  The internet never forgets ? Haha, how come we bump into so many HTTP 404 errors every day, how come most of my older bookmarks are dead links and many hyperlinks I find in documents don’t work anymore ? The internet is a fast growing body of knowledge of human mankind, but it is a very fragile body of knowledge. Moderately Confused ? Don’t worry, keep posting your stuff !

Surprise Something to surprise: my favorite "I really didn’t know this" of the weekabout google searches

Did you know that

  • 20% of googles queries are new each day ?

Only 20 % ? That has been a surprise to me. That means most of the people are searching for the same things most of the time.

Source: “Zeitgeist 2010: How the world searched”. This posting comes with a nice video by google as a look back down the memory lane into 2010, shown in form of what people have been searching for. Well done !

  Something to enjoy: my favorite photo  on flickr under a Common Creative licenseabout balloons

"" by Jonathan Lumibao.

Hot Air Balloons, those colorful giants traveling smoothly above our heads are always great objects for exciting photos. Jonathan Lumibao has published a few in his flickr stream, here is one of those. Which reminds me of my first balloon ride in April 2000, when I received the following title afterwards: “Herzog Axel von der Wörrstadter Wolfskante, unerschrockener Recke vom Gumbsheimer Backesmorgen”. That was fun, I can tell you !

Something to talk about: my favorite quote of the weekabout opportunities

Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work.

We live in the times of fast, cheap and low budgets. We only like opportunities which come as “low hanging fruits”, a term I really hate to hear so often. True innovation means taking some risk with the chance to loose, and it means effort, development, trying things out, improving things over time. That’s the part of innovation many don’t like.

Leave a comment