Victim of some Facebook Phishing

Facebook.jpgToday I became a victim of some Facebook credentials phishing. I received an instant message from one of my Facebook contacts containing a video. When trying to play the video I got prompted to enter my Facebook credentials. After having done this … my credentials went into the wrong hands. And it became obvious that this video was not from my contact.
This happened on my smartphone. I believe on a PC this never would have happened to me because there are many means to cross-check urls and links and other things to detect a phishing. On a mobile device it is much harder. The login screen really looked authentic.
The result was: many dubious videos sent to all my contacts. In the meantime Facebook right away locked my account because they detect suspicious behavior. I also ( too late ) read the warning from my contact in Facebook from whom I had received the malicious message that her account had been compromised.
I unlocked my Facebook account by setting a new password and acknowledging a confirmation code; Facebook did a quiet good job to detect the problem and take me through steps to resolve. I then posted warning on my Facebook page and also sent warning messages to most of my contacts; luckily I have less than 100 Laughing
Interestingly my Chrome browser on one of my laptops later on insisted in downloading a Malicious Software Removal tool from Facebook, which right away was blocked by my virus scanner. This happened while Facebook was working fine in my Firefox browser. I found this very helpful hint here ( see comment # 3 in this lengthy article ) how to overcome this strange means and enable Facebook again in my Chrome browser.