Enabling 1366×768 resolution in Windows 10

I have been struggling for a while to set this up: enabling  Display Settings so that they would support the 1366×768 resolution of my TV screen, after I connected my laptop with Windows 10 installed to my TV.1) In Display Settings this resolution simply was not offered.

Until I figured out this setting in Display Settings –> Advanced Display Settings –> Display Adapter Properties –> Monitor:

Removing the check mark from this check box revealed the resolution I was looking for. Apparently Windows didn’t have much of a clue about the connected monitor. OK, I admit, I connected it via a simple VGA cable.

Smiley

1)I gave up on ubuntu, too many things didn’t work out of the box ( like sending laptop to sleep when closing the lid ), too much googling and obscure hacking needed, and then display driver started crashing when laptop woke up later on. I do complain about Windows a lot, but Linux systems can be worse, and with Windows 10 Microsoft made a great move towards good quality.

Leave a Reply

