Risk and hope

What science tells us is not that you are guaranteed to die because of smoking. It tells us about an increased risk to get a disease or die because of smoking.
When you deal with risk you also deal with hope. What is true for the average person hasn’t have to be true for a single individual like you.

Why do scientists who know about the risk of smoking smoke ? Especially scientists are probably good in dealing with risks and probabilities.

If you are an optimistic person anyway you always would say: yes, I see the risk, but I will be on the lucky side.

Is that the reason we don’t do risk management in our projects ? Because we prefer to hope than to plan accordingly ? Hoping definitely is cheaper.
It’s kind of gambling. When it comes to smoking, it is kind of gambling  with your life.
I personally wouldn’t do this. I always try to minimize risks, when I can. Well … not always. Otherwise I wouldn’t have done some glacier crossing and climbing on rocky mountains during my last vacation. Well, at least we hired a mountain guide to do so, so we took some risk, but then worked on minimizing it.

That picture doesn’t show me, but our mountain guide. Anyway, I had to go the same way.
You actually always take risks. Your entire life is risky, more or less. Even if you stay at home. Most people die there.
But it is easy for me when it comes to smoking: I never figured out what people like about this and never had any interest in smoking. Except may be a water pipe once or twice a year after a diner in my garden.

Leave a Reply

