Good bye delicious, hello Google Bookmarks !

After delicious has decided to come up with new functions I don’t need and brake the old essential functionality I have been using since years ( this mess is discussed here on the review page for the Firefox extension Delicious Bookmarks ) I decided to migrate over to Goolge Bookmarks. Luckily Google Bookmarks provides an “Import Delicious Bookmarks” function and that function works quiet nicely and is smart enough to also figure out which bookmarks I already imported some time ago when I first tried out Google Bookmarks.

Google Bookmarks performs much better than delicious now (as a matter of fact it is really fast!) and comes with a simple user interface which … just works and provides the essentials I need ( except that I could not figure out yet how to get my bookmarks sorted by date as a default ). I am using the GBookmarks Firefox extension for bookmarking and so far I am happy with Google Bookmarks now.

Whether I ever will return to delicious certainly also depends on whether they provide a service to easily migrate back my bookmarks from Google Bookmarks. Nevertheless, as soon as I figure out some way to include a list of my recent bookmarks from Google Bookmarks in my blog as I do it nowadays with delicious bookmarks there is probably no reason for me to ever return to delicious.

Update: Getting a “502 Bad Gateway” Error today when trying to login to delicious.

2 Responses to “Good bye delicious, hello Google Bookmarks !”

  1. Rob003blue Says:

    Thanks for your thoughts, I’ve been wondering whether to try something other than delicious, I’ll give Google Bookmarks a go.

  2. quality control Says:

    Great web site you’ve got here.. It’s hard to find good quality writing like
    yours nowadays. I truly appreciate individuals like you!
    Take care!!


Leave a Reply

