My favorites for week 20, 2011

Big GrinSomething to laugh: my favorite comic strip of the weekabout what kids care about nowadays

Moderately Confused nicely shows in today’s comic strip what kids care about these days. Well, honestly, what do we care about most when looking for a hotel ?

NerdSomething to watch: my favorite video clip of the weekabout modern office spaces

Why we don’t throw paperclips at coworkers is nicely shown in the video "Why you don’t throw paperclips at coworkers". I mean – we know not to do this. See what can happen if you forget about it …

  Something to enjoy: my favorite photo  on flickr under a Common Creative licenseabout Mallorca

Bay at Cape Pinar
"Bay at Cape Pinar" by axel_magard.

Let me share another of my own photos here this week, taken during my stay on Majorca last year. Why ? Because again this year I will travel there for another week to go hiking, this time through the entire mountains of the Tramuntana Range from the West to the East, and this time together with my wife who didn’t join me last year but now after I told her how nice Majorca is for hiking she wanna see it as well of course.
When ? Next week of course. Thus: see you again in 2 weeks from now !

Surprise Something to surprise: my favorite "I really didn’t know this" of the weekabout books

Did you know that

  • starting April 1st Amazon sold more digital than printed books: 105 vs. 100.

Source: amazon.com

Something to talk about: my favorite quote of the weekabout uncertainty

Uncertainty is an uncomfortable position. But certainty is an absurd one.

People who are confident all the time and know an answer to every question and never ever say “I don’t know” or “I am not sure” are suspicious to me. I know, we have been trained to be like this. An IBMer always know an answer to a question, right ? When you give a presentation and someone asks a question, you never ever would say “I don’t know”, even you actually don’t know. Better to give some sort of answer – probably to a question never asked – than not giving any answer at all.
”A little bit of self-doubt is healthy. It gives you an open mind.”, is said in this Lifehacker article. I can’t agree more.

Leave a Reply

