My favorites for week 15, 2011

Big GrinSomething to laugh: my favorite comic strip of the weekabout twitter

How difficult it has been to send messages across in former times ! Thanks to twitter and other modern social networks and communication tools it is so easy to get everyone informed, isn’t it ?

ApplauseSomething to learn: my favorite tip of the weekabout Javascript.

w3schools.com – not to confuse with our internal w3 intranet ! – is a great reference and learning site for creating web sites and all you need to know for this, like HTML, CSS, Javascript, PHP, SQL and much more. I want to emphasize the Javascript pages, since they always come with a TryIt Editor, like here for example with some sample code for the Javascript slice method. Not only does this deliver nice examples ( I often learn better through examples than through some formal explanations ), it actually would allow you to type in your own Javascript code, click the “Edit and Click Me” button and see the results of your code instantly in the right window frame. Sweet !

  Something to enjoy: my favorite photo  on flickr under a Common Creative licenseabout buses and USA South West

Interested in buses ? Then Steven’s Bus & Coach Photos flickr offering is for you. Thousands of buses of all colors and ages, I can tell you !
Interested in nice, often “improved” photos from the Southwest of USA ? Then visit Pedro Szekely’s photo stream.

Maidstone & District,
"Maidstone & District," by Steven’s Bus & Coach Photos.
Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco
"Fisherman’s Wharf, San Francisco" by szeke.

Something to talk about: my favorite quote of the weekabout advertising

The very first law in advertising is to avoid the concrete promise and cultivate the delightfully vague.

Advertising – I actually hate it and avoid it where I can. With most ads I get the feeling that those who created them must think I am a complete idiot.  Thus I  like the way Bill Cosby explains what advertising is all about.

Leave a Reply

