My favorites for week 43, 2010

Big GrinSomething to laugh: my favorite comic strip of the weekabout project plans

Project plans should not be “sold”, they should be discussed. I remember when I had to “sell” my first project plan to my customer. I came up with an end date far later then he had been hoping for and when I threw that on the wall we right away have been in the middle of the discussion how to handle that and finally came up with a working compromise and thus project plan ( we reduced the scope a bit and moved a few items not critical for the magical target date of my customer to later period of time ). As I said: project plans should not be sold, they should be discussed and crafted to create a solid plan instead of a promise full of false hopes. Thanks, Dilbert, for bringing that up …

 

ApplauseSomething to learn: my favorite tip of the weekabout changing directories in linux

You probably knew that just typing “cd” into a linux command prompt takes you to your home directory. But like me you probably did not know that typing in “cd –“ takes you back to the directory where you have been before. Now you know, thanks to Lifehacker and/or reading my blog.

Cool Something to discover: my favorite bookmark of the weekabout HTTP 404 Error Pages
HTTP 404 Error Pages are annoying, everyone certainly hates it to bump into those. In case you have no idea what I am talking about: HTTP (Return Code) 404 stands for “Page not found”. I noticed that the older the bookmarks are I try to re-use from my collection of bookmarks in Lotus Connections Bookmarks or delicious the better are my chances to bump into a HTTP 404 page. This is certainly a symptom of knowledge loss, don’t you think ? A world wide Alzheimer of internet-based human beings, so to speak. Modern documents are hypertext documents, that means they are based on links to other documents. Over time they become more and more fragmentary. We end up with tons of documents becoming incomplete and often almost unusable. Our old way to document our knowledge actually had been much more reliable, if you think about books, which last at least for a hundred years, or crafting words into stone, which were lasting for many centuries.
Nothing is more frustrating if you thought you finally found what you have been searching for and then bump into one of those ordinary HTTP 404 Error Messages. Some web server designer have thought about that dilemma and probably have not been able to fix it, but at least came up with a way to make it a bit easier for the user to accept the dilemma. A nicely designed HTTP 404 Page can get you some comfort while facing that problem, right ? Here is a collection of nice HTTP 404 Pages which might make your day and probably make you stay on that particular web server a bit longer, even it failed initially to get you the information you have been looking for.

  Something to enjoy: my favorite photo  on flickr under a Common Creative licenseabout Homer Simpson and Copyright

Homer
"Homer" by Thomas Hawk.

Since I posted a screen shot featuring Homer Simpson above this one from Thomas Hawk might be a good fit here for this blog posting.

At this point I start wondering how licensing and copyright works if someone takes a photo of lets say a painting, a logo, a photo from another photographer, or a merchandising product, and publishes this under a Creative Commons license for instance, thus allowing to share this material. If there is a copyright on the object he or she photographed, which now is the valid license to consider ?

I am glad I am no lawyer in these days. Currently I am involved in preparation work to license a piece of software we have developed to a customer. One part of it is determining the Country Of Origin, which requires to identify and assess all the components used to craft this software. We have probably a dozen or more open source components in there plus a few more which are either commercial somehow or have an undetermined status. This – I can tell you – is a real bureaucratic nightmare !

Something to talk about: my favorite quote of the weekabout leadership

If you’re a leader, you don’t push wet spaghetti, you pull it.

I’d say: “If you are a leader you don’t push wet spaghetti, you delegate how to move spaghetti around”. And leave it up to your underlings how to do it best.  Or do you suck at delegating ? Then this Lifehacker article might help: “Why I Suck at Delegating (and You Might, Too)”. And don’t micro-mange ! If they want to push the spaghetti, let them push it ! “Delegate Effectively by Skipping the How-To Session” ( another Lifehacker article this is ).

Leave a Reply

