My favorites for week 40, 2010

Big GrinSomething to laugh: my favorite comic strip of the weekabout evolution

   Sometime it really pays off to grab the right book to learn something new. Like I grabbed "Beginning JavaScript and CSS Development with jQuery" by Richard York recently and not only learned a lot about jQuery, but also CSS and how to structure web applications the intelligent way – one of the best reads for several years !

There is probably something wrong with this comic strip from “Reality Check”: I am not aware that books have been available in those early phases of evolution. Well, that’s probably why this series of comic strips is titled “Reality Check”. Anyway, funny it is ….

NerdSomething to watch: my favorite video clip of the weekabout facts

Knowledge consists of facts, but what are facts actually ? Facts are pieces of information which have been verified – sort of. At least we think so. Anyway, this is where a Fact Checker Unit comes in. Fact checking -  a new profession in the realm of knowledge management ? Facts can be verified – or made.

This funny video featuring Bill Murray is not only well done, it gets us some food for thought.

  Something to enjoy: my favorite photo  on flickr under a Common Creative licenseabout mountains and insects

Three impressive creative-commons-licensed photos showed up in my flickr feed this week:

A “Breathtaking View” from the top of a mountain on the Lofoten, taken by Ram Yoga from Norway.
Breathtaking View
"Breathtaking View" by Ram Yoga.
Tiger Swallowtail caterpillar
"Tiger Swallowtail caterpillar" by Vicki DeLoach.
A “Tiger Swallowtail caterpillar” photographed in a butterfly bush by Vicki DeLoach from USA.
Mt Rainier in the sky”, photographed by Kyle Wang on his flight to LAX.
Mt Rainier in the sky
"Mt Rainier in the sky" by Kyle Wang.

Something to talk about: my favorite quote of the weekabout reality

Humankind cannot stand very much reality.

I guess that sentence is true somehow. Reality is that my 3-week-vacation is over now and I am back to work. And after reading 285 e-mails, filling out some strange forms and hearing about upcoming org changes and obscure political maneuvers in my company I have to say: I can’t stand it.

Leave a Reply

