My favorites for week 20, 2010

This posting has been composed with a new version of Windows Live Writer hitting my thinkpad today. Haven’t figured out the improvements yet, but apparently didn’t have to figure out any problems so far. Good !

Big GrinSomething to laugh: my favorite comic strip of the weekabout (conditional) raises

Another nasty Dilbert this week. Nasty but brilliant, like always. This one shows how companies nowadays  handle raises for their employees. You get a raise if you deserve it ( more or less, actually you get it if they think you deserve it ) and if there is enough budget and if sun sets in the East.

 

 

NerdSomething to watch: my favorite video clip of the weekabout Star Wars (again)

Remember the low-bandwidth quick version of Star Wars Episode IV: Star Asciimation Wars I showed you in week 11 ? Here is another Star Wars video, this time done the LEGO way and nicely narrated by a kid. It’s 2:13 minutes long and covers episodes 4 to 6: “The Fastest and Funniest LEGO Star Wars story ever told

  Something to enjoy: my favorite photo  on flickr under a Common Creative licenseabout the Blue Angels

IMG_3486
"IMG_3486" by dbking.

"Photography is an art of observation” says dbking on his flickr profile page. He was lucky enough to see the Blue Angeles during an air show and take some nice shots with his Canon EOS 7D while I just saw their aircrafts in the Florida National Naval Aviation Museum, Pensacola, in 2003 when my wife and I travelled through Florida for 4 weeks. I just scanned in most of my slides from this trip last week using my Cannon Canoscan 5600F; see one sample below.

Blue Angeles
"Blue Angeles" by axel_magard.

Something to talk about: my favorite quote of the weekabout hard work

Hard work never killed anybody, but why take a chance?

That’s probably a good motto for me for next week, since I will be on vacation and travel to Majorca for some hiking, if Eyjafjallajökull let me. Thus, back to hopefully not too hard work the week after next week, again: if Eyjafjallajökull let me Wink.

Leave a Reply

