My favorites for week 27, 2009

 

Big GrinSomething to laugh: my favorite comic strip of the weekabout scapegoats

Why do we always try to find a scapegoat ? Whether there is a traffic jam, a hot summer or a late project, why do we feel better once we think we know who is guilty of that ?

NerdSomething to watch: my favorite video clip of the weekabout the Web Site Story

Do you like musicals ? If so, you most probably know the West Side Story, this famous musical by Leonard Bernstein. I have seen it in several variations as a movie and on stage.

The video today is a West Side Story parody – and a parody on the modern internet: “Web Site Story”.

Nicely presented and funny !

Thumbs-up Something to enjoy: my favorite photo  on flickr under a Common Creative licenseabout … my home

Hi Frog !
"Hi Frog !" by axel_magard.

This time with one of my own. Wednesday evening has been a strange evening. It has been real hot ( still is here in Germany ) and after having a glass of white wine I suddenly grabbed my camera and took more than 100 shots in my house and garden. Some sort of very strange creativity boost or something like that. Mostly I took close-up shots of little details  and often from strange perspectives.
More than 40 of those photos I uploaded to my flick account. If you like to see more of those, come and explore my photo set “At Home” on flickr.

  Something to talk about: my favorite quote of the weekabout speed vs. quality

In journalism, there has always been a tension between getting it first and getting it right.

In journalism only ? I think nowadays this tension exists everywhere in companies, projects and the economy. I know of projects where most things have been very uncertain except the finish date of the project. What exactly to deliver by then obviously has been secondary.
In that sense Robert Byrne is right when he says: “Doing a thing well is often a waste of time.”

Leave a Reply

