My favorites for week 26, 2009

This is an excerpt of my weekly “fun@work “ posting I usually throw into my company internal blog at the end of every week.

Surprise Something to surprise: my favorite "I really didn’t know this" of the weekabout dolphins

dolphin's dance
"dolphin’s dance" by kalandrakas.

Did you know that

  • dolphins can sleep with one half of their brain while the other half is awake ?
  • and that this is a pre-requisite for them to survive since other than human beings for instance they need their brain to breathe,
  • and that birds can do the same thing, thus sleep while they are on a long distance flight ?

Source: bild der wissenschaft 7/2009

Thumbs-up Something to enjoy: my favorite photo  on flickr under a Common Creative licenseabout the beating hearts of the Buddhas

The Beating Hearts of the Buddhas
"The Beating Hearts of the Buddhas" by Stuck in Customs.

Trey Ratcliff had to get up quiet early in the morning for this amazing shot, and in the description to this photo he lets us know the details how he actually created it.

  Something to talk about: my favorite quote of the weekabout telling and writing

I take the view, and always have, that if you cannot say what you are going to say in twenty minutes you ought to go away and write a book about it.

In that sense blogging might be a good communication tool. Instead of writing a book about something, why not contributing your wisdom in little pieces through a blog ? Unless you want to make some money of course …

Leave a comment