My first experience with OpenOffice V3 Macros

Version 3 of OpenOffice comes with four flavors of macros: OpenOffice Basic, Python, BeanShell and Javascript.

I spent half an hour trying this out with only little success. Recording and playing back a static macro works and produces some strange OpenOffice Basic code – hard to read and better not to touch.

Python, BeanShell and Javascript all don’t work out of the box. Sample macros are provided but running the HelloWorld sample of these three types of macros always produces some fundamental error message right away; I have captured those here.

If anyone has made any further progress or can recommend a good read please leave a comment here.

2 Responses to “My first experience with OpenOffice V3 Macros”

  1. My second experience with OpenOffice V3 Macros « Axel’s Travelog Says:

    […] My first experience with OpenOffice V3 Macros […]

  2. My third experience with OpenOffice V3 Macros « Axel’s Travelog Says:

    […] third experience with OpenOffice V3 Macros March 9, 2009 — amagard After my first expereince with OpenOffice V3 Macro has been a complete failure I investigated a little further and made a second experience: here I […]


Leave a Reply

